Alive or dead…

I fear the nights these days,
the darkness looms over me everyday.
Days somehow pass by,
nights stretch so, I know not why.

The thought of lying in bed scares me,
my eyes refuse to shut and sleep fails me.
Tired I maybe but I remain awake,
I stare ahead waiting for daybreak.

A few winks I manage each night,
but I wake up weak and troubled by.
What is it I think or feel??
that makes me distressed and without sleep??

I search around for a solution,
I look around for some explanation.
Friends worry and family is concerned,
nothing I say or do gives them satisfaction.

I drag my feet through each passing day,
I hope and pray someone shows me a way.
Whatever is said doesn’t go in my head,
my mind refuses to accept i am dead…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 4valentines4words4poetry4you
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 11:49:50

    wow this is a powerful poem. very good indeed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

